Academic Calendar

Fall 2015

Month & Date Day Schedule
August 10 - 25 Monday - Tuesday

Orientation (as scheduled by programs)

August 26 Wednesday

Last day to drop with 100% refund

August 27 Thursday

First day of class; First day of late registration; First day to drop courses with 75% refund

September 1 Tuesday

Award of Degrees and Certificates

September 2 Wednesday

Last day of late registration; Last day to add courses; Last day to drop courses with 75% refund

September 3 Thursday

First day to drop courses with 50% refund

September 5 Saturday

No classes scheduled*

September 7 Monday

Labor Day – SPS offices closed, no classes scheduled*

September 9 Wednesday

Last day to drop courses with 50% refund

September 10 Thursday

Classes follow a Monday Schedule; First day to drop courses with 25% refund

September 13 - 15 Sunday - Tuesday

No classes scheduled*

September 16 Wednesday

Last day to drop courses with 25% refund; No refunds after this date; Last day to drop without a “W” grade 

September 17 Thursday

First day of withdrawal, grade of “W” will be recorded

September 22 - 23 Tuesday - Wednesday

No classes scheduled*

October 12 Monday

Columbus Day – SPS offices closed, no classes scheduled*

November 9 Monday

Last day to withdraw and receive grade of “W”

November 26 - 29 Thursday - Sunday

Thanksgiving: SPS offices closed, no classes scheduled*

December 15 Tuesday

Last day of classes

December 16 - 23 Wednesday - Wednesday

Final exam period

December 23 Wednesday

Fall term ends

*Online instructors are asked not to make new assignments or require assignments to be submitted during this time. Course sites will remain open.

Winter 2016

Month & Date Day Schedule
January 4 Monday

First day of class; Last day for 50% tuition refund

January 8 Friday

Last day for 25% refund

January 17 Sunday

Last day to withdraw from a class with the grade of a "W"

January 18 Monday

SPS offices closed, no classes scheduled*

January 25 Monday

Final exams

*Online instructors are asked not to make new assignments or require assignments to be submitted during this time. Course sites will remain open.

Spring 2016

Month & Date Day Schedule
January 13 - 26 Wednesday - Tuesday

Orientation (as scheduled by programs)

January 15 Friday

Award of degrees and certificates

January 28 Thursday

Last day to drop for 100% tuition refund

January 29 Friday

First day of class; First day of late registration; First day to drop courses with 75% refund

February 4 Thursday

Last day of late registration; Last day to add courses; Last day to drop courses with 75% refund

February 5 Friday

First day to drop courses with 50% refund

February 11 Thursday

Last day to drop courses with 50% refund

February 12 Friday

First day to drop courses with 25% refund

February 12 Friday

Lincolns’ Birthday  – SPS offices closed, no classes scheduled*

February 15 Monday

Presidents' Day - College is closed

February 18 Thursday

Last day to drop courses with 25% refund; No refunds after this date; Last day to drop without a “W” grade 

February 19 Friday

First day of withdrawal, grade of “W” will be recorded

March 23 Wednesday

Classes follow a Friday schedule

March 25 - 26 Friday - Saturday

No classes scheduled*

April 11 Monday

Last day to withdraw and receive grade of “W”

April 22 - 29 Friday - Friday

Spring recess*

May 17 Tuesday

Last day of classes

May 23 - 27 Monday - Friday

Final exam period

May 28 Saturday

Spring term ends

*Online instructors are asked not to make new assignments or require assignments to be submitted during this time. Course sites will remain open.

Summer 2016

Month & Date Day Schedule
May 31 - June 4 Tuesday - Saturday

Orientation (as scheduled by programs)

June 5 Sunday

Last day to drop with 100% refund

June 6 Monday

First day of class; First day of late registration; First day to drop courses with 50% refund

June 7 Tuesday

Last day of late registration;  Last day to add courses; Last day to drop courses with 50% refund

June 11 Saturday

First day to drop courses with 25% refund

June 15 Wednesday

Last day to drop courses with 25% refund (no refunds after this date); Last day to drop without a “W” grade

June 16 Thursday

First day of withdrawal, grade of “W” will be recorded

July 4 Monday

Independence Day – SPS offices closed, no classes scheduled*

July 7 Thursday

Last day to withdraw and receive grade of “W”

July 16 - 20 Saturday - Wednesday

Final exam period

July 21 Thursday

Last day of classes, summer term ends

*Online instructors are asked not to make new assignments or require assignments to be submitted during this time. Course sites will remain open.

Note: The refund schedule in this calendar applies to courses that meet for the entire summer term only. Courses that meet for a shorter duration will have a prorated refund schedule.